The Brand New (Old?) iPhone 4S

iPhone 4S: $199 16GB, $299 32GB, $399 64GB

Hello peoples. Yes, it’s been a while, a very long while, but I’m back. I’ve been rather busy with work these last few months, so bear with me. Any who, as many of you know Apple has revealed their latest entry into their top-selling iPhone line, the iPhone 4S. I know what some may be saying, “Wait, what? What happened to the iPhone 5? You mean to tell me that I waited this long only to get a measly frikkin update to the iPhone 4? I mean c’mon it looks EXACTLY the same!” However there are some very key differences that I think make this a worthwhile purchase, especially for those who have a 3GS or earlier, like myself. Before I begin, I’d like to state that although I do enjoy Apple products, they are not the say all and be all of technology, but I haven’t had any problems with them for the last several years so I stick with them. Yes, there are other companies that are better in some aspects, likewise Apple is better is other aspects too, it’s all a matter of opinion and what works for you. I say all this to dispel the notion that I am an Apple fanboy, for the simple logic that a “fanboy” disregards all facts and states that his/her product is the best, period. They state this as fact, not opinion and will get upset when someone challenges them. But that’s another topic for another blog post, for now, let’s look into some of the features of the iPhone 4S.

Now it was pretty much expected that the new iPhone would have a faster processor, improved camera, and run all the bells and whistles that come with iOS 5 and iCloud. The key feature of the iPhone 4S, however, will more than likely be Siri, the new personal assistant. For those that don’t know, Siri allows you to use natural language to speak to your phone to do numerous task. Let’s say you are driving and you receive a text message, you can ask Siri to read your text message and then send a reply all without taking your hands off 10 and 2 (and risk getting a ticket for texting and driving). It can also be used to compose and send emails, set reminders, schedule appointments, look up random information, baptize babies, and cast out demons! Ok, so not so much the last two, but you get the idea. Now is it completely innovative? Well, no, because voice recognition has been around for a while now, but the difference is that you can talk to it as if you were talking to another human. It doesn’t need certain syntax to understand what you are asking. So what this means is that you can ask, “What’s the weather like today?” or “Do I need an umbrella?,” and it will intelligently understand you and respond appropriately. The more you use it, the better it will get. At launch, it will still be in beta form, however, so be prepared to see a few bugs. Little do people know however, that this is exactly how Skynet took over the world in The Terminator series…

The Terminator

The beginning of the end?

The question is, should you get it? That is up to you. I can say that if you have an iPhone 4, it’ll probably be best to wait for the next iteration to be released next year, unless you just have to have it now. As for those who have the iPhone 3GS or earlier, this is such a significant upgrade from these earlier versions that I believe it warrants a purchase. I usually go on a 2 year cycle myself. I passed on the 4, so I’ll be picking up the 4S. Plus my 3GS is starting to act up as it’s nearing the end of its life cycle. One key factor that is missing from the iPhone 4s that most people are upset about is 4G/LTE integration. Sadly, the iPhone 4S will still be on a 3G network. I have heard several reasons for this, the main one being that Apple doesn’t want to compromise battery life until they can figure out how to maximize 4G/LTE network. I have read that phones using 4G/LTE will drain the battery if it is switched on. Any one with a 4G/LTE phone that can confirm or deny this claim? According to Apple’s press conference, with the processor they have they can load data just as fast as phones using 4G/LTE network. I’m not too sure about that and will have to judge for myself when I get my hands on it. What do you faithful readers think? Do you love or hate Apple? Will you get the iPhone 4S, wait for the next inevitable iteration, or say eff it and roll with Android? Please share your comments below.

The iPhone 4S will come in black or white and three different SKUs; 16GB, 32GB, and 64GB for $199, $299, and $399, respectively. It is released on October 14, 2011 and available for pre-order on October 7, 2011.

About Tha Doc

Like the tallest Redwood, you won’t be able to grow without both the sunshine and the rain...
Gallery | This entry was posted in The Cool, The Feed, The Matrix and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Brand New (Old?) iPhone 4S

  1. The Audacity of Dope! says:

    I’m not sure if I will cop it being that I already have the 4, but that Siri joint is something SIRIous!! I love the concept and it is exactly what I always wished I could do with a phone. So much power! By the way, is it true what they say about Steve?

  2. Supreme Soul says:

    Thanks for the update sir. I definitely didn’t know that it wasn’t a full upgrade and I’m kind of glad I didn’t waste time waiting for it to come out. But I do think the Siri software is quite useful and I can’t wait to get the new full upgrade and have it all! Then taking over the world will be that much easier! ….(in my evil voice….HAHAHAHAHA)

Leave a Reply

