Breast Cancer Awareness…Hmmmm?

Is this really Breast Cancer Awareness???

So I was on the web recently and came across the picture you see above. I definitely was confused as to whether this was right or wrong and as you can tell for good reason. Ok maybe not right away but let me explain why.

On one hand, you have a pretty much naked set of breast-a-sis with the pink ribbon pasties which seems completely unethical and degrading to women. On the other hand, it did do the job of reminding me that 1) it is currently Breast Cancer Awareness Month right now and 2) get me to talk about Breast Cancer Awareness in one way or another. Hmmm…a paradigm indeed!

So, with that I pose the question: Is this picture going too far or is it ok since it does seem to serve the purpose of making people “aware”?

P.S. Breast cancer is one of the most commonly diagnosed cancers in women (#2 behind skin cancer) and African American women are more likely to die from breast cancer than their white counterparts. So ladies get those mammograms so you can be around as long as you’re supposed to be please!

This (and more)info can be found at: www.breastcancer.org/symptoms/understand_bc/statistics.jsp

Gallery | This entry was posted in Health and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Breast Cancer Awareness…Hmmmm?

  1. Demarcus McCal says:

    Sex sells, and it got the job done. It was probably made strictly for laughs because I couldn’t see the actually nbcam people making that.

  2. Tha Doc says:

    I agree with Demarcus. It was a made as a joke but still used to get a point across. I don’t think people should get offended by it….as long as it wasn’t featured on a website directed to children. Then I can see it as being offensive, lol. The irony, however, is that assuming that the woman pictured is younger (ie, 20s) a mammogram wouldn’t see jack squat given the dense breast tissue, therefore ladies, don’t neglect your monthly self breast examinations. And if you really want to spice it up, have your significant other help you out….hiyooo! lol But seriously though, cancer is bad, so squeeze a titty…save a life.

  3. CMAC says:

    Lol…you guys are funny. Just curious, where do you stumble across these images? I never find
    these photos in Women’s magazines. So maybe the goal was to get guy’s attention and involved in serious health issues facing women, e.g. NFL players all wearing shades of pink on uniforms, sports gear, etc…Based on your responses, it got y’all attention so I guess it’s getting the point across. Kudos! And I agree on no children’s sites please.

  4. LovelySavant says:

    Sooo I feel like I’m not being a hater as current president of the itty bitty titty committee but I feel like I dont think those breasts are natural, just judging from knowledge and admiration of larger breasts-is-sis so that makes the ad even more ironic. But I have an aside, why is breast cancer so marketable and gains so much attention. Can we get the same PR people on things that are actually killing and disabling people at a much higher rate such as Heart and Lung disease and Mental health?!?! What white person died that was able to capitalize on this illness – oh yeah Susan G. Komen. Sigh.

  5. cthebizzybee says:

    I agree that this definitely was focused to get the attention of men and that’s fine because they need to be concerned for their mom, sister, etc. and this picture might help keep it in their mind. It does disturb me, however, how free people are with putting a woman’s naked breasts all over the place. There could have easily been a cute girl with big breasts and a breast cancer awareness baby T-shirt. When you find a picture of a naked penis to remind me of penile cancer let me know.

  6. Pingback: Artistry, Photography, and Poetry – Breast Cancer Awareness Edition | The Intellectual Revolution

Leave a Reply

