J*Davey – No More

J*Davey

If you know me and you’ve been around me enough, I’m sure you’ve heard me play this joint a few times. It is definitely soul music and some would say neo-soul, but I think of it as “sultry soul” with a feel that makes it easy to put it on repeat and lose yourself in the rhythm, melody, and lyrics altogether or one by one. It’s your choice. The first time I heard it I was blown away, and I still am quick to put it on for people not knowledgeable to the music of J*Davey. They are a dynamic talent hailing from Los Angeles, and this song comes from their 2008 album entitled The Beauty in Distortion/The Land of the Lost. If you enjoy it I highly recommend checking out some of their other music. Thanks for reading and listening. Come back and check us out at theintellution.com.

– Supreme Soul

Follow us if you enjoy this or other posts here at theintellution.com or on Twitter @theintellution

Gallery | This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to J*Davey – No More

  1. The Audacity of Dope! says:

    I’ve never been more proud B! This is kind of avant garde Soul Music sir!! I have been on J*Davey for years but figured if was too left field and you might not dig it! I saw them live last year actually. What you know about that “Just Because” feat Phonte on the same album?

    • Supreme Soul says:

      That just goes to show you that you can’t judge a book by it’s cover. If it sounds good to me, I pretty much will listen to it. Sometimes your joints are definitely a bit too out there for me, but give the young man a chance and he just may surprise you, especially in the musical arena. As far as the track you speak of, it is indeed dope but my 2nd favorite track from this album behind the joint mentioned above would have to be Mr. Mister! Production is sick on that one and reminds me kind of a Gnarls Barkley type of feel. Thoughts?

Leave a Reply

