I Am Other- Stereotypes: Are You A Hipster

For those of you who don’t know, Pharell, of Neptunes and N.E.R.D fame, started a youtube station called I Am Other to showcase arts and culture that are a bit more outside the box. As a lover of the avant garde, naturally I am intrigued! Here is one of the series called Stereotypes where the host wanders around asking folks in the community, mainly the NYC, (BUP BUP BUP!!) and asks folks their opinions about varying topics. The first one I’m posting is one that is near and dear to my heart as I live right next to the Hipster Capitol of the World, Williamsburg, Brooklyn, and I LOVE the hipsters and the brilliant sweaters they wear. For those of you who don’t know what a hipster really is….here you go!

PS I will be posting a lot of this on theintellution as they are always intriguing. Also look out for my Ted Talks series to continue.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Art, Style, The Cool, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Am Other- Stereotypes: Are You A Hipster

  1. Tha Doc says:

    Interesting indeed sir! My thoughts on what makes someone a “hipster” would be whether they do things different from expected societal norms. Such as not listening to popular music, not conforming to the latest fashion trends, etc. Now the big question is whether some people do this because they genuinely like it or if they are doing it to stand out and try to create a new fad….just to say that they “liked such and such before it was cool,” and then move on to something else. No matter to me, as 3000 said, “Whatever floats your boat and finds your lost remote.” And SMH to the girl who didn’t know what jazz is.

Leave a Reply

