Not your Brooklyn anymore..it’s MY Brooklyn

BROOOOOKLYN!!!!! Excuse me, but as a new Brooklynite who moved to the city about 2 and a half years ago I loved this place before I even got here and was oh so excited to get to live in the heart of it….DOWNTOWN BROOKLYN! Everything I had heard about how artsy, cool, soulful and diverse the BK is supposed to be was all true, and I got to explore all that while living in an amazing luxury building right in the midst of it. The BEST OF BOTH WORLDS….right!?! Little did I know, that the luxury building I lived in was part of the gentrification force sucking all the stuff I came for right out of it.  The beef patty with the cocoa bread isn’t as easy to find. The cyphers on the corner are fewer and further between. Not that I need a black hair care spot that sells the finest in extensions and weaves, but if I did, I would be a bit harder pressed to find one. Okay, maybe not the last one but whatever the case, the native Brooklynites tell me that things are changing, and in their view, not for the better. Gentrification is alive and well in Brooklyn folks and I have got it’s uppity, bourgeois blood on my hands! As you watch this doc, you’ll see that at the root of this gentrification process are corporations like the ones who built the very building I sit here typing this piece in. They actually even show the construction of my building in the vid. Considering myself an artsy soulful brother of the people I must say I am kind of embarrassed, but just like many of those who straddle the fence between darkness and light, blue and red, Bert or Ernie…you know what I’m trying to say… Just like that, I am too comfy in my convenience and at this time not sure what I’ll do, but I know that I can start by spreading the message, and here you go…

What do you all think? If you want to check the documentary, it will be playing in Dumbo, Brooklyn at the reBar’s reRun theater starting Jan 25, 2013. For more info check their website at reruntheater.com.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Art, Movies, Music, Say It Wit Ya Chest!, The Cool and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

