Macklemore & Ryan Lewis – Thrift Shop

Now I’m sure I’m late with this one, but I since I don’t regularly listen to the radio–for fear of what foolishness gets regular spins these days–I don’t feel so bad about posting it well after it’s been out. So I checked the chart for top R&B/Hip-Hop music earlier today, and I see two names that show up on it not 1 or 2 or 3 or 4, but a whole 5 times. So this makes me go and do some more research about who this person is seeing as how I’ve never had the pleasure of hearing about him or his music until today.

I come to find out that Macklemore released his début studio album The Heist back in October 2012 and this track (featuring production from Ryan Lewis) was on it. I haven’t listened to the entire album yet, but I must say that from the few tracks I’ve heard thus far, I would prefer this over most commercial hip-hop that is often publicized and glorified by the masses. This track definitely took me by surprise. It captured the essence of what a few of my friends come to appreciate about shopping in not so glamorous and ostentatious places, yet still finding great pieces that will turn heads. He puts his own style on it and seems to be speaking from a place of experience more than just talking sh*t about something he never has seen or done before (see most barely heard of rappers music for more information on this topic). I think it’s different, but worth listening to, and I’m interested in hearing what the rest of the album will be like. Anyways, check out the #1 song, as of today, on Billboard.com for top R&B/Hip-Hop. Enjoy, spread the word, and support good music.

Supreme Soul

Macklemore and Ryan Lewis

Macklemore and Ryan Lewis

macklemore-theheist-1352146916

Subscribe to the blog on WordPress if you like this and other posts here at theintellution.com. You can also follow us on Twitter @theintellution and be sure to like us on Facebook.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Macklemore & Ryan Lewis – Thrift Shop

  1. Tha Doc says:

    Love it. Dude’s pretty funny. I have never heard of him myself so I’ll be checking his stuff out too.

  2. Dclay3 says:

    I would like to take this opportunity to say, I freaking love this song. It singlehandedly explains what I’ve been trying to tell people for years. The thrift store is the perfect place to shop, especially if you like vintage clothing.

  3. politicalK says:

    It’s different but I like it! The beat is very infectious.

  4. Rocky95 says:

    It’s also independent and scaring the beejeezus out of the major labels, as it’s been Billboard’s #1 for a few weeks.

Leave a Reply

